Books I’m Looking Forward To in 2014

Everyone else has been doing one of these, so this post is my turn! Here are just a few of the books I’m really looking forward at are due to be published this year.

Books Im Looking Forward To in 2014

The Eye of Zoltar by Jasper Fforde (16th January, Hodder & Stoughton)

The Mighty Shandar, the most powerful wizard the world has ever seen, returns to the Ununited Kingdoms. Clearly, he didn’t solve the Dragon Problem, and must hand over his fee: eighteen dray-weights of gold.

But the Mighty Shandar doesn’t do refunds, and vows to eliminate the dragons once and for all – unless sixteen-year-old Jennifer Strange and her sidekicks from the Kazam house of enchantment can bring him the legendary jewel, The Eye of Zoltar.

The only thing that stands in their way is a perilous journey with a 50% Fatality Index – through the Cambrian Empire to the Leviathan Graveyard, at the top of the deadly Cadir Idris mountain. It’s a quest like never before, and Jennifer soon finds herself fighting not just for her life, but for everything she knows and loves…

Always love Jasper Fforde’s books and his YA series, is one of the most fun series to read.

Books Im Looking Forward To in 2014

Hollow City by Ransom Riggs (14th January, Quirk Books)

Having escaped Miss Peregrine’s island by the skin of their teeth, Jacob and his new friends must journey to London, the peculiar capital of the world. Along the way, they encounter new allies, a menagerie of peculiar animals, and other unexpected surprises.

Absolutely loved Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children, when I read it back in 2011, and have been dying for this sequel for ages.

Books Im Looking Forward To in 2014

The Dark Inside by Rupert Wallis (30 January, Simon and Schuster)

The House on the Hill has been abandoned for as long as James can remember. So when he discovers Webster, a drifter, hiding there, he’s instantly curious about the story behind the homeless man. What is he running from?

Afflicted by a dark curse, Webster is no longer who he used to be. But there is said to be a cure and it might just be that by helping Webster, James will find some solace of his own. Together they embark on a journey, not knowing that what they discover will impact them both in ways they never imagined…

A gripping and haunting story about loss and hope, perfect for fans of Patrick Ness and David Almond.

Already have an ARC for this one and am really looking forward to starting it!

Books Im Looking Forward To in 2014

Banished by Liz De Jager (27th February, Tor)

Kit is proud to be a Blackhart, now she’s living with her unorthodox cousins and sharing their strange lives. Especially since their home-schooling includes spells, fighting enemy fae and using ancient weapons.But it’s not until she rescues a rather handsome fae prince, fighting for his life on the edge of Blackhart Manor, that her training really kicks in.

With her family away on various missions, Kit must protect Prince Thorn, rely on new friends and use her own unfamiliar magic to stay ahead of Thorn’s enemies.As things go from bad to apocalyptic, fae battle fae in a war that threatens to spill into the human world. Then Kit pits herself against the Elder Gods themselves – it’s that or lose everyone she’s learnt to love.

Another one I’m really looking forward to is Banished from former book-blogger Liz De Jager, I’ve heard good things about it already, here’s hoping its a big success!

 

Books Im Looking Forward To in 2014

Department 19 – Zero Hour by Will Hill (27th March, Harper Collins)

As Dracula continues his rise, the men and women of Department 19 wait for good news. But hope is in short supply – the country is beginning to fall apart as the public comes to terms with the horror in their midst; a cure for vampirism remains years, even decades away; and their supposed ally Valentin Rusmanov has not been heard from in weeks.

Jamie Carpenter and his friends are working hard to keep the forces of evil at bay, but it is beginning to feel like a lost cause…Until familiar faces from the past bring news that could turn the tide.

News that takes Matt Browning to America on a desperate search for a miracle, and sends Jamie and Larissa Kinley into the darkest corners of eastern Europe, where something old and impossibly powerful waits for them. Something that could stop Dracula for good. But the clock is ticking. Night is falling. And Zero Hour is almost here…

The next book in this incredible series, that just keeps getting better.

Books Im Looking Forward To in 2014

Dreams of Gods and Monsters by Laini Taylor (17th April, Hodder & Stoughton)

By way of a staggering deception, Karou has taken control of the chimaera rebellion and is intent on steering its course away from dead-end vengeance. The future rests on her, if there can even be a future for the chimaera in war-ravaged Eretz. Common enemy, common cause.

When Jael’s brutal seraph army trespasses into the human world, the unthinkable becomes essential, and Karou and Akiva must ally their enemy armies against the threat. It is a twisted version of their long-ago dream, and they begin to hope that it might forge a way forward for their people. And, perhaps, for themselves.

The conclusion of the Daughter of Smoke and Bone series, and I can’t wait to see how it all works out for Karou and friends

It wouldn’t be too hard to keep going and list some more books, but I thought I’d let you have a turn, is there a book due out this year that I absolutely must read? Let me know in the comments.

Darren

Bart, is a fully signed up member of Book Addicts Anonymous ;) Despite, constantly fighting a losing battle against his T.B.R pile, he is never happier than when he manages to sneak a new book in to the house!

You may also like...

10 Responses

  1. Kailana says:

    Nice picks! I have way too many I want to read, I guess… My list was a bit longer and I forgot a few. :) I still haven’t read Laini Taylor’s series, but I do have book 1 on its way to me in the mail. :) I read one her standalone books and liked it. Hope you have some happy reading in 2014!

    • Darren says:

      Yeah, I’d've only had look a little harder to make this list much longer! You’ll enjoy Daughter of Smoke and Bone I think, really great characters and a fantastic main location.

  2. I’m looking forward to the Ransom Riggs book myself. He is going to be hear on his book-signing tour in a few weeks and we have tickets. I’m looking forward to that, and getting a signed copy of the book, but I’m most anxious of all to actually read it.

  3. Nice list! THE DARK INSIDE looks especially intriguing.

    • Darren says:

      I went to a blogger’s event at Simon & Schuster back in December, and Rupert was there to talk about his book, made me want to read it even more!

  4. Definitely, definitely looking forward to Banished. And The Dark Inside and the new Laini Taylor :) Great picks!

  1. January 14, 2014

    […] I’ve already looked at some of the books I’m looking forward to in 2014 a couple of which were debuts, but most were authors or series I already enjoy. Today’s Top Ten Tuesday theme from the gang over at The Broke and the Bookish, is Top Ten Debuts; so I’ll start the list with two of the books I talked about in my other upcoming posts, and then take the opportunity to highlight some others. […]

Leave a Reply

tramadol from canada, cheap phentermine diet pill, amoxil dosage for adults